Why The Vision Has To Be God Given.

Saturday night was our first gathering & it kinda felt like a first date.

Liberation:GatheringAbout 10 folks showed up to gather with hope that we will be liberated beyond our imagination to embrace the truest versions of ourselves. Much like people go on a first date with the hope that the person will finally provide the partnership they dream of as children, but few if any get married on the first date. In the same manner, no one floated through the roof because a lifetime of burdens were lifted in one night. If anything, I think we are a little more grounded because a foundation was set. & we know that in order to build the necessary trust it takes to dive into this pool of liberation together we need to go on another date, so, March 8th, it’s on!

communionOur time together was relatively organic as we didn’t corral people from one thing to another, instead we allowed Holy Spirit to guide us through. We ate delicious food, drank crafty beverages, played corn-hole, listened to some tunes, shared stories, sang songs to the Lord, made conversation & sat at the Lord’s table. It was truly incredible & I’m already spinning my wheels about how to more adequately facilitate our pursuit of liberation.

Personally I was both scared to death & set free thanks to the amount of God’s promises over the course of the last 14 years fulfilled in one night. I have had 222 tattooed on my wrist since 2007, which was a reminder of a particular verse of the bible & I believe that the Lord specifically told me to launch Liberation:Gathering on 2/22. Also, it has been nearly nine years to the day that I desperately drove myself in to the parking lot of Phoenix First Assembly Church looking for God to prove Himself to me. I was coming down from nearly a year-long binge of being drunk everyday, drinking while I was working, drunk driving, & keeping myself as far away from God & [most] Christians as I could. But on 2/10/05 I experienced God in a way that has kept me in constant pursuit of Him since then. He opened my heart to this:

Psalm 139:23-24
“Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
Point out anything in me that offends you,
and lead me along the path of everlasting life.”

Liberation Gathering

I think it is fair that I add this thought though, if I didn’t truly believe that God is calling & leading us into this ,there is no way that I keep this up. Saturday was by far the most exhausting day physically & emotionally that I have had in quite some time, which says a lot considering I have 2 jobs, 2 kids, an incredible wifey & am relatively good at all of those things. Mere desire can’t be enough to venture into this kinda thing, the vision has to be God-given.

& it’s with that I leave you, go where you’re called and do what you’re built to do. In the mean time leave your fake smiles at home & don’t be afraid to shake up the status quo!

If you’re interested in joining us please sign up for our email list HERE as the location for Liberation:Gathering is going to change from time to time so others can experience the joy of hosting.

@Liberate_Gather

One thought on “Why The Vision Has To Be God Given.

Whatchya Think?

