How Do I Know When To Pursue ‘That Thing’?

So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.

I’ll put the cart before the horse a little – It is far better to use your gifts and goodness for the betterment of humanity to the glory of God than it is to reach fame, status or public recognition. I struggle with this almost daily.

The one thing that brings me life, more than almost anything, is to be up in front of people with a microphone sharing the gospel. But how do I go from being just another wordsmith to an impactful preacher? – Below is a story about my current journey, I hope you can relate and are encouraged!

While living the dream serving tables at Pita Jungle, a hip Mediterranean restaurant in my home city, I received an unexpected visit from my friend Mike Bhatti who is involved on the leadership level with a rad church movement called PhoenixONE. Mike was meeting a friend for lunch, when his friend arrived he wheeled himself up to the restaurant with one leg propped up on a padded cart. His name was Sam and he had broken one of the bones in his leg that ends in ‘ibula, and despite his injury he was high energy, all smiles and full of encouraging words to a complete stranger. As Mike introduced me to Sam he mentioned that I was a “speaker”, and a good one at that. After sharing a recent experience at RENEW [read about it HERE] with Sam he asked why I don’t speak more. My answer to that question is pretty simple, I think. I told him that I don’t really know how to sale myself as a “preacher” and the idea of trying to convince a church or group of people that I am not only a gifted communicator, but that I really am a disciple of Jesus. To keep a long conversation short, Sam said, “If you’re a gifted communicator, and you enjoy doing it, AND your audience is moved, then don’t worry about what people think of your pursuit, just go do it!”

After Sam had left Mike ran back in with 2 rubber bracelets that read “LET’S FREAKIN’ GO!” – Sam had briefly mentioned his success as a college football player, but I didn’t find out until after he left that he is currently playing on the professional level with the Arizona Cardinals.

Sam Acho

Sam Acho is a wonderful example of encouragement for so many people who need to be told that they are good enough to pursue that one thing, the one that brings you more life than breathing. I was encouraged by Sam, but I walked away knowing in my heart that cold-calling churches to get 30 minutes in front of their people and a couple hundred bucks in my pocket isn’t the right move right now. Some people are gifted, some are good and others are greedy… Don’t let impatience lead you to greed because you’re good at something, or even more dangerous that you’re gifted. This morning I was gracefully reminded by the scriptures that no matter how good I am at something I am not wasting the gift by being patient and pursuing humility until the moment that The Lord chooses to release me into it.

1st Peter 5:1-11 is strong and also provides a little more context for the verses that I’ve highlighted.

He’ll Promote You at the Right Time

1 Peter 5 1-3 I have a special concern for you church leaders. I know what it’s like to be a leader, in on Christ’s sufferings as well as the coming glory. Here’s my concern: that you care for God’s flock with all the diligence of a shepherd. Not because you have to, but because you want to please God. Not calculating what you can get out of it, but acting spontaneously. Not bossily telling others what to do, but tenderly showing them the way.

4-5 When God, who is the best shepherd of all, comes out in the open with his rule, he’ll see that you’ve done it right and commend you lavishly. And you who are younger must follow your leaders. But all of you, leaders and followers alike, are to be down to earth with each other, for—

God has had it with the proud,
But takes delight in just plain people.

6-7 So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.

8-11 Keep a cool head. Stay alert. The Devil is poised to pounce, and would like nothing better than to catch you napping. Keep your guard up. You’re not the only ones plunged into these hard times. It’s the same with Christians all over the world. So keep a firm grip on the faith. The suffering won’t last forever. It won’t be long before this generous God who has great plans for us in Christ—eternal and glorious plans they are!—will have you put together and on your feet for good. He gets the last word; yes, he does.

 Find your something and do something about it… humbly.

3 thoughts on “How Do I Know When To Pursue ‘That Thing’?

  1. Pingback: Are You Taking Life On A Journey? | Be Honest or Die

Whatchya Think?

