New Years Restoration

Within the next seven days, thousands of gym memberships will be opened, thousands of dollars will be spent on “health food”, bible reading plans will be researched on the internet, and millions of lists will be written in hopes that the countdown between 12.31.10 at 11:59pm and 01.01.11 at 12:00am will spark something magical within them. Our desire is, that in the blink of an eye, all of our habits, experiences and moments of mediocrity will dissipate simply because we made a resolution. Fortunately, our lives do not work that way, however, it is what we hope for at every turn… “When I get married, I will…” “When I have children, I will stop…” “When I graduate college, I will…” And time and time again we disappoint ourselves by staring in the mirror and swearing this is going to be the year, only to find ourselves in March worse than we were in January. This year, as we get ready to ring in the New Year, ask God to change you heart in the areas that you want to grow! It is healthy to write these goals down, make them visible and realistic, but figure out inside of your heart what needs to change in order for you to actually accomplish these goals. My goals are much more specific than they have ever been, because this is what makes my heart feel motivated. If I just say, “work out more”, I won’t… but, if I set a goal to run a marathon and hike the Grand Canyon during 2011, I have things to work towards, and can include others in these goals. [I’ll list my goals at the end].

If our hearts don’t change, our actions never will… this is painfully true and most of the time, this is why we don’t see change in our lives. We don’t attack our hearts because we know that is the source and once that happens, we will actually see change, and most of us don’t want change, we’d just rather talk about changing. I know I am guilty of that… years of empty words… conversation starters, ego boosters and verbal manipulations. Be honest this year… be honest with your heart first! What do you truly want to change versus what you think others would like you to change? What has prevented you from ever reaching this goal before?  What does God[‘s word] say about those areas of your life/heart? After you answer these questions, make a list, write it down in 5 places [one of them being your bathroom mirror] and then pray and have other pray with/for you!

I am going to make a bold statement… If you are honest about your heart and set realistic goals for yourself, then ask God to change you heart in those areas while you start pursuing the actions, you will see the results that you wanted and your lifestyle will be different!

My New Year List:

  • Skydive with Danny
  • Run a marathon
  • Hike the Grand Canyon
  • Pursue something an acting part
  • Do something crazy for love
  • Open REFUGE:flagstaff

 

Thank you for all of your support over 2010, I needed you more than you know. I love you and am excited to step into another year with you!

 

Whatchya Think?

