To It’s Logical End: A Public Confession.

Readers. Followers. Haters. Friends & Family.

It is not often that I am confronted w/ my thoughts and theories however, when I am, they are some of the most fruitful times of my life. Last night, my friend and Pastor was bold enough to tell me that he disagreed w/ the overall statement that I made in my last blog “Phantass” [which has now been deleted]. He began to question the motive of my words and the quality of my argument, both of which broke down in the face of this issue.

I have created a separation between the convictions of my heart and my political views, which end up commingling no matter how hard we try to keep them apart. I enjoy controversy and with that I have an overall disgust with the way a lot of “christian” men and women treat girls who have had an abortion, individuals who indulge in and struggle with a homosexual lifestyle , etc. Due to this hatred, I have tried to realign my political life in order to show love and grace to individuals who are within these demographics, the cause and effect of this has removed the expression of my personal conviction.

This is a problem.

My policial antagonism isn’t going to change the hearts of the “christian” population who have somehow missed the love & grace that has supposedly changed them… true, unadulterated grace is the only thing that can truly change our hearts!

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

Knowing that God knits each individual together in the womb of their mother, each cell and gene are the workmanship of the Creator. The creation of life is precious beyond any other act that we could experience as humans and I do not support the act of abortion; from experience I know how horrific and emotionally detrimental the procedure is. Never, in any of my ranting about being “pro-choice” have I ever been “pro-abortion”, I am pro-love and that was my motivation. I don’t ever want a Christian to make an individual feel hated or shamed because of their behavior, whether they share the same conviction of faith or not. That is not the movement of the Cross. Jesus was so heartbroken for and accepting of these people [not necessarily their actions] in His culture that He was condemned publicly and even called an alcoholic because of how much time He spent dining w/ “sinners” [Luke 7:34]. A true example of loving those who the “religious” condemn is Jesus, and we should model this behavior with every ounce of energy that we have! Religious people will always look for the actions and completely dismiss your heart, Jesus looks at your heart and gives grace to your actions. If the heart doesn’t change, then we remain the same… regardless of how we act.

I would like to apologize for twisting my views and manipulating my own words for the sake of being “controversial”… I am not pro-choice anymore than I am pro-sex trafficking or pro-genocide. Our 21st century American culture is so into the movement of social justice [which is a beautiful thing to be trendy], but we advocate for so many of the oppressed all over the world that the idea of empowering the oppressor would seem ignorant if it were proposed. For instance, if we said, “let us legalize sex trafficking [child prostitution] because maybe some of the girls like it and it’s multi billion dollar industry.” That would be absolutely absurd and no one [except the pimps] would be in support of that movement. So why do we fight to keep legal the act of murdering a child due to immature sexual decisions? Again, from experience I can tell you that 99% of abortions happen because a woman got pregnant by someone that she didn’t intend to get pregnant by while engaging in consensual intercourse. Some of these woman are teenage girls some are married women and the majority are irresponsible sexually active adults in their 20’s and 30’s. Regardless of their demographic, we as the adult are the opressor, not the unborn child…

Where is your advocacy now?

Again, please forgive me for being a “button pusher” when it comes to political topics and not opening or correctly sharing my hearts conviction[s].

LIVELOVE

2 thoughts on “To It’s Logical End: A Public Confession.

  1. Right on, we as Christians have a responsibility to always be forgiving. However we equally have a responsibility to protect the least of these, which today often times takes the form of an unborn baby. I appreciate your honesty Dennis and think you accomplished at least one of your stated goals, to ruffle some feathers.

  2. Pingback: 2010 In Review [Transition to 2011] « .Love.Pray.Talk.Heal.Live.

Whatchya Think?

