Your Fist, Your Face

Hello, my name is Alan and I am a narcissist. I am a little nervous to be in here with the rest of you, not because there is anything wrong with you, I just don’t know that I am comfortable being here with you people. Please, don’t take that “you people” as a negative thing, I’m sure that you are great people but, this is me we’re talking about. I’m a pretty good Christian, I serve, I have coffee with people, I don’t sleep with my girlfriend, and I don’t judge you people either. I am constantly asking other people about you so that I can pray for you, please know that I wouldn’t gossip about you. And, when I condemn you, or come down on you spiritually, it’s because you’re messing up and it is my place to tell you. You know, Iron Sharpens Iron and I feel so blessed that God would use me to get your life back on track!

If you read this and it rings a little like this, “mirror mirror on the wall…?” then do us all a favor… get up from your computer, walk to the closest mirror and punch yourself repeatedly in the face until you bruise or bleed.

Thank you.

I often hear stories of people that strive after Jesus being condemned, bashed and beaten for things that are not sin. What troubles me the most about this is how quickly we are able to feel justified in acting this way because we have ran from a specific sin three consecutive temptation sessions. Big deal. Maybe your parents did you an injustice and just always told you how great you are… my turn.

You are wicked.

You are selfish.

You are proud.

You are ugly.

You are sinful beyond your wildest imagination.

I know because I used to be this guy, I kept everything in my little “sin closet” except for when some dudes would get together and all share our masturbatory moments of the week. Pride is something that I often struggle with, however, I have prayed for and sought out the wisdom to be more in-tune with my life of sin. This is not something that I have or will ever master but, the greater I view my sin the greater the cross becomes to my heart.

There have been some men throughout the course of history that would be able to boast if they chose to do so and here is one example: Paul, converted Jew and writer of two-thirds of the New Testament wrote these words to the church in Corinth, “on my own behalf I will not boast, except of my weaknesses. Though if I should wish to boast, I would not be a fool, for I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain from it, so that no one may think more of me than he sees in me or hears from me.”

This might be my favorite line, “so that no one may think more of me than he sees in me or hears from me.” – Beautiful!

After your face heals, pray for this.

It is one thing to use a sinner as an example, no matter how righteous that sinner is, it is another thing to use the Messiah as our example: Mark 10:45 says, “for even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve and to give His life as a ransom for many.” If Jesus came to serve, being the one individual who could have demanded service and respect, we should probably do the same.

Paul sums this up beautifully as he writes to Timothy, “…Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of who I am the foremost.” Paul knew that he was the worst sinner that he would ever encounter.

I am the worst sinner that I will ever encounter.

You are the worst sinner you will ever encounter.

Your soapbox is starting to bow, step off of it, look to Jesus on the cross and resurrected from the grave. Focus on Jesus’ purpose, that He came to serve yet he owes us nothing!

*all sentences and phrases that are written to “you” are also written to me.

L!VELOVE

dennis alan gable jr.

Whatchya Think?

