O Sluggard: Proverbs 6ix

This project has been unbelievably difficult so far… The goal is to read, meditate on, try to process and then express the text and how it is effecting my heart, in the midst of my normal [unstable] life. I’m not sure how I feel about myself and my inability to set aside the appropriate time to complete this project, well. That is possibly a lie, I am frustrated that I am unable to be responsible to this project, or any project for that matter.
For years I have been known as the dude who starts projects and doesn’t finish them, I don’t get much feedback on this because people are generally polite but, I wonder how often someone hears another dream of mine and simply rolls their eyes thinking, “that would be [insert something positive here] if he would actually follow through this time.”?

This has to change.

This is changing.

I was at work [Buffalo Exchange] today and was really feeling the weight of my laziness so, because there are 303 people who care about my daily happenings I decided to Tweet this, “dennisgable is so frustrated that I keep ending up in stupid jobs!! I have a story that needs to be told and the ability to tell it… Grrr” Moments after this had posted to the open hands of the world wide web I remembered that I was yet to read my Proverb for the day. Blackberry in hand I went to the mobile browser and brought up BibleGateway.com in order to read Proverbs 6 and in the palm of my greedy, lazy, self-righteous hands I read these words, “Go to the ant, O sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise. Without having any chief, officer, or ruler, she prepares her bread in summer and gathers her food in harvest. How long will you lie there, O sluggard? When will you arise from your sleep? A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest, and poverty will come upon you like a robber, and want like an armed man.

Slap!
Slap!
Slap!

Right in the face…

It turns out that I suck way worse than I ever gave myself credit for!

The time is currently 2:34am Phoenix time and I am up working, finally. I have sent more than 25 emails out to valley principals and will continue to knock out my list tomorrow morning.
I do not gain a moment to my life by procrastinating.
I do not impact a life by sleeping in.
I do not learn diligence by pursuing laziness.

Solomon insulted me by using an ant, an ant! Think of how many ants have fallen to the sole of your shoes, it is them that Solomon gives credit for their work ethic, not I.

Good night, lazy.
Good morning, diligence.

L!VELOVE

If you have enjoyed the early steps of this journey, I would encourage you to visit my “big” brother Chris’ blog

One thought on “O Sluggard: Proverbs 6ix

  1. Personally I got quite a bit out of chapters 3 and 4, but I’ll track with you here. Knowing how different your life is today then when you wrote this, I don’t know if this is a lesson that has stuck with you, or if re-reading it will rekindle that fire to work diligently in whatever God has prepared for you. You have Jamie to support now, so channel your inner ant and get to work. πŸ™‚

    Something about my German translation strikes me in that verse. “Go to the ant, you sluggard, see her ways AND LEARN”. As I’ve found is often the case between the German and English, the German is active where the English is more passive. And the key here is not just that the ant does work. The key is, as stated in the next verse, that work is done without having to be micro-managed. We should do our duties without needing to be prompted in all circumstances, be that in our employment, chores at home, or our duties to God. That concept will pretty much challenge everyone.

    I’m especially convicted by verse 25. I often feel like I’m in God’s art museum, and the beauty of women can be admired in a simply aesthetic manner. But I needed this reminder that it’s not just aesthetics. A painting of a sunset or a grassy meadow is safe. Admiring the beauty of a woman can be dangerous, because it can lead to that desire that Solomon warns us against.

Whatchya Think?

