The Day of Celebration & Proverbs 2

Dennis Alan Gable Sr.

Today is my fathers “party”. He was never one to attend a service, willingly… My guess is he would have been able to count for you the number of weddings, funerals or service of any kind on both hands. He barely remembered his wedding ceremony because of a long morning spent frolicking with Mr. Jack Daniels, ceremonies and services just weren’t his thing. If i had to offer my opinion as to why, I would say that he was more afraid of the vulnerability that takes place within those settings. Emotional expression and vulnerability were not experiences that he embraced or experienced openly. So, in his honor we have decided to just have a backyard party, reminiscent of many that I have attended with him throughout my short twenty seven years.

Proverbs 2:

Solomon takes us a little deeper into the pursuit of wisdom and the benefits of it…

…Then you will understand righteousness and justice and equity, every good path; for wisdom will come into your heart, and knowledge will be pleasant to your soul; discretion will watch over you, understanding will guard you, delivering you from the way of evil, from men of perverted speech, who forsake the paths of uprightness to walk in the ways of darkness, who rejoice in doing evil and delight in the perverseness of evil, men whose paths are crooked, and who are devious in their ways.

Solomon also discusses how wisdom is also fleeing from the wicked woman, who has discarded the love of her youth and now lives to entice the Godly.

Seek the Lord. Wisdom will guard the path of your heart.

I am sorry that this post isn’t very in depth, I have a lot on my mind and a lot of responsibilities to tackle this weekend. I will also try to post Proverbs 3 and 4 tomorrow sometime considering that I am already a day behind. This project is much more difficult that I originally gave credit for.

dennis alan gable jr.

One thought on “The Day of Celebration & Proverbs 2

  1. I am so blessed that I finally got to meet you and you did an awesome job yesterday. Your grandma Maxine has always been a beacon in my life because she has Jesus love in her heart and I can say I know the pain she is in, but I don’t know the pain of losing a father. I pray that my remaining children will learn to love the Lord like you do, and they will when the time is right. Just hang in there buddy and I will keep you in my prayers. Love, Cousin April!!!

Whatchya Think?

